“Tree Spirit” by Patrick Nelson

Patrick Nelson,
“Tree Spirit” by Patrick Nelson

I love to look at this painting, and over time the tree spirit in the painting has become the guiding spirit of my writing. Tree Spirit plays for every being who listens, and the turtle (in the lower right-hand corner) listens most intently of all.

“Tree Spirit” appears here by permission of the artist, who can be reached at thegreateruniverse@gmail.com.

Published by

Harriet Ann Ellenberger

writer; featured contributor to "Return to Mago" and advisor to Mago Academy and Mago Books; advisor to "Trivia: Voices of Feminism"

6 thoughts on ““Tree Spirit” by Patrick Nelson”

    1. Dear Susan, thanks. You were the one who wrote me that the turtle in the painting represents for you a turtle and the earth and grandmother. I tried to get all that in to the post and tangled up my words, so the comment space is a great place to say, Tree Spirit plays for the earth too, the grandmother — to keep her feeling like staying alive.

      Like

    1. Patrick Nelson’s “Tree Spirit” is now also the background on my computer screen, so I look at it every time I sit down to work. When I e-mailed him the web address of my new blog, he wrote back, “Our tree spirit will make things grow.” And if you remember from “My First Metaphysics Lesson,” which you published in “Return to Mago,” where I talk about seeing “the women in the trees,” well … they looked like the tree spirit in the painting (enormously tall & young & beautiful, unclothed, and you could see right through them).

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I only saw them once and only mentioned seeing them in one piece of writing, which I’ll put soon into this blog. I’d love to read someone else’s experience because mine was so brief. Sometimes now I can feel the vibrations coming off Maplethuselah, a maple tree in the back that’s 150 to 200 years old. Very comforting, that tree. Birds love it; so do all the humans around here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

